"Am Mayener Kreuzchen" Kapelle in Ettringen

Ettringen

Share content:

The small chapel is located - coming from the direction of Mayen - directly at the entrance to the village of Ettringen on the left side. It was built in 1896 on the spot where a stone cross had previously stood - the Mayener Kreuzchen, as the people of Ettringen call it.
In 1894, the married couple Matthias Weidenbach commissioned the master mason Johann Krämer from Ettringen to build the little chapel on their property. In the summer of 1895 it was decorated by Antreichermeister Mathias Lanz, also from Ettringen. On Palm Sunday, March 29, 1896, the dedication took place.
The neo-Gothic chapel, made of local basalt, shows the figure of St. Mary above the entrance and St. Joseph with the infant Jesus in his arms on the outside in the Gothic side niche.
The chapel is still maintained and cared for by the descendants of the Weidenbach family. Thus, in 2015, an extensive renovation of the chapel took place.

mehr lesen

At a glance

Opening hours

  • Vom August 16th bis December 31st
    Monday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Tuesday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Wednesday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Thursday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Friday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Saturday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

    Sunday
    00:00 - 23:59 Uhr

Place

Ettringen

Contact

Kapelle Ettringen
Mayener Straße - L82
56729 Ettringen

Homepage

Plan your journey

Route on Google Maps

Arrive by train

You might also be interested in

Historisches Fachwerkdorf Monreal mit Burgen, © Eifel Tourismus GmbH, D. Ketz

Half-timbered village Monreal

The narrow streets of Monreal, its quaint Holy Trinity Church, the massive Nepomuk Bridge over the clear flowing Elzbach and the ruins of Löwenburg and Philippsburg castles high above the town are a perfect destination for an excursion in the eastern Eifel. The red and white half-timbered houses nestle closely together in the former cloth-making town. Not only visually is Monreal an excursion destination that relaxes the soul. Café Plüsch with its cosy interior, the Old Rectory with its sunny terrace on the banks of the stream or the former signal box at the gates of the town are perfect addresses for foodies. The highlight for lovers of handicrafts is the pottery in the old school. Hikers get their money's worth on the Monrealer Ritterschlag hiking trail and are rewarded for the sometimes steep passages with wonderful views.

"Am Mayener Kreuzchen" Kapelle in Ettringen

Ettringen

Inhalte teilen:

Die kleine Kapelle befindet sich - aus Richtung Mayen kommend - direkt am Ortseingang der Gemeinde Ettringen auf der linken Seite. Sie wurde 1896 an jener Stelle errichten, an der vorher ein Steinkreuz stand - eben das Mayener Kreuzchen - wie die Ettringer sagen.
Die Eheleute Matthias Weidenbach beauftragten 1894 den Maurermeister Johann Krämer aus Ettringen mit dem Bau des Kapellchens auf ihrem Grundstück. Im Sommer 1895 wurde es von Antreichermeister Mathias Lanz, ebenfalls aus Ettringen, dekoriert. An Palmsonntag, 29. März 1896, fand die Einweihung statt.
Die neugotische Kapelle aus heimischem Basalt zeigt über dem Eingang die Figur der hl. Maria und außen in der gotischen Seitennische den hl. Josef mit dem Jesuskind auf dem Arm. 
Die Kapelle wird auch heute noch von den Nachfahren der Familie Weidenbach gepflegt und instand gehalten. So erfolgte im Jahre 2015 eine umfangreiche Renovierung der Kapelle.


mehr lesen

Auf einen Blick

Öffnungszeiten

  • Vom 1. Januar bis 31. Dezember

    Die Kapelle ist frei zugänglich und kann tagsüber besichtigt werden.

Ort

Ettringen

Kontakt

Kapelle Ettringen
Mayener Straße - L82
56729 Ettringen

zur Website

Planen Sie Ihre Anreise

Route anzeigen per Google Maps

Reisen mit der Deutschen Bahn

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Historisches Fachwerkdorf Monreal mit Burgen, © Eifel Tourismus GmbH, D. Ketz

Fachwerkdorf Monreal

Die engen Gassen von Monreal, seine urige Heilige-Dreifaltigkeitskirche, die wuchtige Nepomukbrücke über dem klar dahinströmenden Elzbach und die Ruinen von Löwen- und Philippsburg hoch über dem Ort sind ein perfektes Ausflugsziel in der östlichen Eifel. Eng schmiegen sich in der ehemaligen Tuchmacherstadt die rot-weißen Fachwerkhäuser aneinander. Nicht nur optisch ist Monreal ein Ausflugsziel, das die Seele entspannt. Das Café Plüsch mit seinem behaglichen Interieur, das Alte Pfarrhaus mit sonniger Terrasse am Bachufer oder das ehemalige Stellwerk vor den Toren der Stadt sind perfekte Adressen für Leckermäuler. Highlight für Liebhaber von Kunsthandwerk ist die Töpferei in der Alten Schule. Wanderer kommen auf dem Traumpfad Monrealer Ritterschlag voll auf ihre genussvollen Kosten und werden für die teils steilen Passagen mit wunderschönen Ausblicken belohnt.